Residency Requirements

Residency Requirements


For the most accurate and up-to-date information regarding the residency application, process, and requirements, visit USU's residency Web page, or visit the Admissions Office in the TSC, Room 102, or call 435-797-1079.

On July 1, 2007, the state of Utah passed a new residency law, giving students the opportunity to achieve Utah residency within 1 year, instead of 2.

In order to obtain Utah residency under this new law, students must:

  • reside in Utah for 12 consecutive months

  • not be claimed as a dependent on tax returns by anyone that is not a Utah resident

  • obtain a Utah driver license at least 3 months prior to submitting an application for residency

Students may not leave the state for more than a total of 30 days during the 12 consecutive months, or the 12-month count will start over. However, if you will be out of the state conducting research or an internship that is for your specific degree program, this time can be counted toward the 12 continuous months if you provide a memo from your department to the Admissions Office that confirms the project. Students who plan to do this should seek prior approval from the Admissions Office.

Students who have permanent residency (i.e. a Green Card) are treated the same as domestic students. In other words, they can achieve Utah residency and will fall under the same restrictions as all other domestic, nonresident students.

Nonresident tuition awards are limited to the number of credits earned during the first 12 continuous months of a student's coursework. If a student is at the point where he or she is able to apply for residency, but chooses not to do so, the student will be responsible to cover the cost of the nonresident portion of tuition after the first 12 months.